Entertainment Earth

Uncanny X-Men Starts with a 10-Part Story Called X-Men: Disassembled with Fresh Creative Teams

The X-Men are slowly returning to fighting form with Marvel’s announcement for Uncanny X-Men which will have three writers and three artists spearheading the new volume. Not only will we have three teams, fans can also expect a massive story called “X-Men: Disassembled”. Best of all, we even have a beautiful teaser.

The teaser art seen above and below was done by David Marquez and will feature the current teams affiliated with Marvel’s merry mutants.

Writing trinity for Uncanny X-Men includes Ed Brisson (Extermination), Kelly Thompson (Mr. and Mrs. X) and Matthew Rosenberg (Astonishing X-Men). Meanwhile, art team consists of Mahmud Asrar, R.B. Silva, Yildiray Cinar and Pere Perez.

The press release that came along with the teaser art stated that “brings together nearly every mutant left on earth in a story that threatens to destroy them.” The arc will be “an epic tale of mystery and tragic disappearance, with an adventure so earth-shattering, it could very well be the X-Men’s final mission.” Also they made it a point to stress that by the end of the first story arc, not everybody will be there to join the Uncanny X-Men.

So that would mean there will be a group of mutants who either branches off and forms their own team or the more ominous option is that there will be more mutant deaths.

Other things I noticed with this new teaser image:

– Storm, Jean Grey and Kitty Pryde stand in the middle of all this.

No Cyclops, Original Five X-Men or even Wolverine.

Sabretooth and his newly established team of murderers are also not present in this.

Psylocke is caucasian again, something that is still being brewed in the “Hunt for Wolverine” storyline set in Madripoor.

I’m sure we’ll get more definitive answers as November rolls by, which is when the book is expected to drop into comic store.


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *