Entertainment Earth

ICYMI Here’s the official lineup for the X-Men post-House of X

ICYMI (and because I screwed up writing a post about this) lets take a look at the official lineup for the X-Men post-House of X.

We were all so caught up with all the happenings of the X-books that we completely forgot that the world at large does not have a proper X-Men team. It took most of the mutants living in Krakoa going on a rescue mission during the climax of X of Swords to realize that too. And now after some time with the election (and borrowing a page from AKB48 too), a new X-Men team has been born and is set to have their own adventures starting with X-Men # 1 by Gerry Duggan and artist Pepe Larraz.

This new team will consist of:

  • Cyclops
  • Marvel Girl
  • Rogue
  • Sunfire
  • Polaris
  • Wolverine
  • Synch
  • Charles Xavier (unofficially anyway)

In a recent statment, Marvel says:

“The current era of X-Men has evolved mutant storytelling like never before,” reads Marvel’s announcement. “No longer protecting a world that hates and fears them, the X-Men said goodbye to their dream of coexistence and founded a thriving mutant homeland. But in the aftermath of X of Swords, original X-Men Cyclops and Marvel Girl realized that the world needed its premiere team of mutant superheroes.

“Things might be complicated between the nation of Krakoa and the rest of the Marvel Universe, but to the X-Men, things are simple—you do what’s right, you protect those who need protecting and you save the world we all share. This new team are the chosen champions of mutantkind, and they’re up for any battle to protect their people and their home planet.”

And while the mutants of Krakoa are still saving lives whether its helping fight the King in Black or saving the new ruler of the Shi’ar Empire, there’s still no official X-Men until they are officially revealed in the upcoming story Hellfire Gala.

As you can see in the connecting cover above, Marvel has also commissioned their “Stormbreakers” artists to do a connecting cover for X-Men # 1 based on the classic X-Men # 1 cover by Jim Lee.

Here’s the breakdown of the artists with their respective covers:

  • Juann Cabal – Professor X
  • Carmen Carnero – Marvel Girl
  • Peach Momoko – Sunfire
  • Iban Coello – Synch
  • R.B. Silva – Cyclops
  • Natacha Bustos – Wolverine
  • Patrick Gleason – Rogue
  • Joshua Cassara – Polaris

“It’s my privilege and honor to be reteamed with Pepe Larraz as we throw beautiful and deadly threats at the X-Men beginning in July,” Duggan says in Marvel’s announcement.

“Mutants have saved themselves, and are now going to save the world. Krakoa will grow roots in the capital of the world, New York City, and the inaugural year will star Cyclops, Marvel Girl, Rogue, Wolverine, Synch, Sunfire, and Polaris. The threats to Earth will come fast and hit hard, and every page from Pepe and Marte will blow your hair back. See you in July.”

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook for more geek news and updates especially X-Men!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *