Entertainment Earth

Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition Now Available

We’re proud to announce that Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition is now available digitally for PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and PC. Available directly from the PlayStation Store, the Microsoft Store, Nintendo eShop, and the Rockstar Games Launcher, Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition will also release physically for Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and PlayStation 4 on December 7 — and will be coming to iOS and Android in the first half of 2022.

“The response and impact we felt from the original Grand Theft Auto Trilogy was – and still is – truly humbling for us all,” said Sam Houser, Founder of Rockstar Games. “We are so grateful to all the players, and we cannot wait for everyone to play these new versions.”

Celebrating this year’s 20th anniversary of the launch of Grand Theft Auto III, Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition comprises the genre-defining titles Grand Theft Auto III, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas.

Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition features across-the-board enhancements such as GTAV-inspired modern controls, graphical and environmental upgrades including higher resolution textures, enhanced lighting and weather and more, bringing the iconic locations of Liberty City, Vice City, and San Andreas to the latest platforms, honoring the experience of the original titles while enhancing them for a whole new generation of players.

Grand Theft Auto III

It all starts in Liberty City. Originally released on October 22, 2001, Grand Theft Auto III first pioneered our approach to building highly immersive and detailed, fully 3D open worlds, delivering unprecedented freedom and nonlinear gameplay combined with rich, cinematic storytelling, alongside the series’ now signature radio stations, each with a thoughtfully curated playlist and DJ host to match.

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City refined this approach, delivering heightened levels of immersion, detail, and humor, as it took players back to the 1980s and into a neon-soaked tropical town brimming with excess through the story of Tommy Vercetti and his quest for revenge.

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas elevated these concepts even further with the introduction of three distinct cities including the original Los Santos, as well as a host of new features as Carl ‘CJ’ Johnson battles the streets and corrupt cops to save his family in a loving homage to the ’90s.

Originally developed by Rockstar Games, Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition has been adapted to modern platforms by Grove Street Games using Unreal Engine to make these classics more vibrant and more immersive than ever.

All three games included in Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition also feature platform-specific enhancements including Gyro aiming and touch screen camera zooming, pans and menu selections on the Nintendo Switch, 4K-resolution support with up to 60 FPS performance for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X systems, and NVIDIA DLSS support for PC.

Starting today, players with Xbox Game Pass also have access to Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas – The Definitive Edition, while Grand Theft Auto III – The Definitive Edition will be coming to PlayStation Now on December 7.

For more information on Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition, visit the official site.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *